Outstanding delegates recognized in BMUN International Night

Outstanding delegates recognized in BMUN International Night

The 19th annual Benilde Model United Nations (BMUN) awarded delegates and their outstanding papers that aimed to resolve some global problems in the International Night last July 14 at the Augusto-Rosario Gonzales (ARG) Theater, Taft Campus.


Photos by Kyle Bustos

The conference aimed to provide an avenue for participants to have the chance to experience the role of a diplomat, represent various countries upon recognizing political, economic, and socio-cultural issues across the globe, and formulate solutions to the global problems. Coming from five different plenary bodies, the student delegates awarded are as follows:

Outstanding Position Paper

  • United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) delegates Mary Allysa Santos from The Islamic State of Afghanistan and Chloe Padel from Federative Republic of Brazil on ensuring migrant worker’s rights as a pathway to sustainable economic growth and expanding corridors for development in rural areas through community-based education
  • World Health Organization (WHO) delegates Elisa Sanchez from Kingdom of Sweden and Krystine Hazel Hernandez from Republic of Korea on proactively combating 21st century epidemics and formulating sustainable solutions in addressing the global shortage of clean water
  • United Nations Security Council (UNSC) delegate Hannah Alcomendas from French Republic on women as partners for peace and stability in areas of armed conflict and combating global terrorist financial networks
  • Special Political and Decolonization Committee (SPECPOL) delegates Francene Nicole Vivero from Japan, James Israel Garcia from Kingdom of Norway, and Catherine Marasigan from United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland on reviewing sustainable and viable means of assisting non-self-governing territories and intensifying cooperation in the peaceful use and exploration of outer space
  • United Nations General Assembly (UNGA) delegates Mitzi Caryl Encarnacion from Kingdom of Bahrain and Christine Desolong from Georgia on ensuring sustainable development in indigenous communities and minority groups and securing the social inclusion of child refugees and asylum seekers

Outstanding Delegate Award

  • ECOSOC delegates Cesca Balasbas from United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and Alec Skeet Makabali from Somalia
  • WHO delegates Sean Francis Hinolan from Central African Republic and Chloe Gian Jundez from Democratic People’s Republic of Korea
  • UNSC delegate Jethro Lacsamana from the People’s Republic of China
  • SPECPOL delegates Ivan Jules Capin from Republic of Finland and Francene Nicole Vivero from Japan
  • UNGA delegates Keano Lewis Santos from Republic of Italy and Angeli Alyssa Andan from Republic of Estonia.

Meanwhile, ECOSOC delegate Alec Skeet Makabali from Somalia was given recognition for Most Quotable Speech Award as he addressed the said committee, last July 14.

“We must not look at our mistakes but look at how we can improve each on each other to truly be a United Nations. To reach sustainability, we must think under one mind, beat under one heard, and feel under one soul,” Makabali said.

Benilde MUN is the country’s largest and pioneer collegiate model United Nations. The yearly conference, organized by the students of the Consular and Diplomatic Affairs program under the School of Diplomacy and Governance (SDG), invites student delegates from local and abroad to find solutions to concerns in the international community, more specifically those concerning the UN.

For more information, visit the Benilde MUN official website and their official Facebook page.


The Benildean Press Corps © 2018 . All Rights Reserved