Benilde Torpedoes settle for bridesmaid finish

Benilde Torpedoes settle for bridesmaid finish

Despite falling short versus the San Beda College Red Sea Lions, the De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde (DLS-CSB) Torpedoes still placed second overall and secured 47 medals in the Swimming Tournament of NCAA Season 93 last Sept. 6 to 9 at the Rizal Memorial Swimming Center.

Day one: Lipat breaks own record

The Torpedoes kicked off the competition by nabbing a total of six medals on the opening day.

Misay Lipat, captain of the Women’s team, set a new record in the 200m individual medley with a time of  2:31.48 seconds. In addition, she also managed to finish first in the 100m freestyle challenge.

Meanwhile, Lady Torpedo Leila Quiambao bagged her first silver medal of the season in the 50m backstroke. Quiambao and her teammates Maurize Dabi, Wina Tecson, and Andrea Pacheco also earned silver in the 200m medley relay challenge.

For the men’s team, Christopher Wong secured the bronze medal in both 100m freestyle and 50m backstroke with Torpedo Aziz Pukunum. Jose Lavina also contributed a bronze medal for the team in the 200m individual medley. Likewise with their women team, Wong, Pukunum, and Lavina, together with Ivon Adelantar also ended up with a silver medal on their neck in the 200m medley relay.

Day two: Benilde bags gold for 100m butterfly and 50m breaststroke

Veteran Lipat was on top of her game, grabbing gold and defending her title in the 100m butterfly challenge. Moreover, Lipat, alongside with her teammates Christine Mendoza, Wina Tecson, and Jaymee Ortega earned silver in the 400m freestyle relay.

Mendoza also finished second in the 400m individual medley, only bested by San Beda‘s Katrina Garcia for gold. The 50m breaststroke was also championed by the Lady Torpedo Maurize Dabi, beating the Red Lions. The 200m backstroke was the last stop of the Lady Torpedoes’ second day success as Leila Quiambao paddled for bronze.    

As for the Men’s Division, Jose Gabriel Lavina snatched bronzes in the 50m backstroke and the 100m butterfly while Christopher Wong also landed bronze in the 200m backstroke. Lastly, the 400m freestyle relay silver was won by the quartet of Franco Teves, Jeffrey Hirao, Shaq Pido, and Darwin Tumaneng.

Day three: Champions in 50m butterfly and 200m freestyle relay
Lipat successfully defended her title in the 50m butterfly category, and, together with teammates Andrea Pacheco, Jaymee Ortega, and Mendoza, secured the top spot in the 200m freestyle relay challenge.

Meanwhile, Quiambao and Wong bagged bronze medals in the men’s and women’s division of 100m backstroke finishing in 1:12.77 and 1:03.76 respectively.

In the men’s division of the 200m freestyle relay, Torpedos Franco Teves, Shaq Pido, Darwin Tumaneng, and Wong fell short for the golden medal finishing the course with 1:43.48 against their tight rival school, San Beda with the finish time of 1:38.77. Moreover, Torpedo Pukunum paddled for the bronze in the 50m butterfly challenge while Lavina failed to place in the 200m breaststroke behind San Beda who secured the top three spots.

Day four: Lipat finishes NCAA tenure undefeated

On the last day of the competition, Lipat once again emerged victorious with a time of 26.82 seconds for the Women’s 50m freestyle. The Benildean, who is taking up Production Design, finished her NCAA tenure undefeated, a 5-peat for her.

From the Men’s division, Wong scored a bronze at 25.00 for the same event. Lady Torpedo Dabi finished second place in the Women’s 100m breastroke at 1:20:31. Likewise, fellow Benildean Lavina also splashed to a silver finish in the Men’s division of the same event with a time of 1:09:13. Mendoza finished third place for the Women’s 200m butterfly at 2:45:97.

The Men’s and Women’s teams scored a bronze and silver, respectively for the 400m medley relay. Repping for the Men were Benildeans Aziz Pukunum, Jose Gabriel Lavina, Adelantar, and Hirao; and likewise for the Women’s, Leila Quiambao, Maurize Dabi, Gianna Data, and Veronica Mae Cruz.

By the end of the swimming tournament, the DLS-CSB Torpedoes brought home a total of 47 medals: 10 gold, 21 silver, and 16 bronze.

For more Blazers’ action, table tennis competitions for men and women started today, Sept. 11, and will take place again on Sept. 17 at the Rizal Memorial Sports Complex.

Photos by Mark Baltazar, Kyle Bustos, Nicole Constante, and Patricia Oliveros


The Benildean Press Corps © 2018 . All Rights Reserved