Photo By Marc Guevarra
Photo By Marc Guevarra.

BPC, Ad Astra secure three awards in national journalism competition

The Student Publications Unit's student-journalists won three individual awards in the categories of Photojournalism and Editorial Writing. #CJC2024 #CampusJournalismConvention2024

By Kobe Balderas | Tuesday, 30 April 2024

Student-journalists hailing from the Student Publications Unit’s Benildean Press Corps (BPC) and Ad Astra bagged three awards in the 2nd National Convention on Campus Journalism today, Apr. 30, at the Manila Grand Opera Hotel in Santa Cruz, Manila.


Following its online inaugural event in April 2023, the Transforming Advocates and Champions (TRAC), in partnership with the Taiwan Foundation for Democracy, spearheaded the 2nd National Convention on Campus Journalism.


The event, held from Apr. 28 to 30, gathered 338 delegates from 63 schools nationwide to learn and participate in a three-day face-to-face event, featuring a variety of plenary talks from renowned speakers and a series of competitions in varying fields of journalism, including Sev Sarmenta, a veteran sports anchor of the Philippine Basketball Association (PBA), Boy Abunda, a renowned TV presenter often referred to as the “King of Talk,” Samira Gutoc, a Filipina civic leader recognized for her environmental and peace advocacies, and DJ JhaiHo, a radio DJ and television host.


The following are the students from BPC and Ad Astra who were awarded, alongside their respective categories:



Miguel Bugarin - Second Place in Photojournalism

Jorel Magistrado - First Place in Editorial Writing


Ad Astra:

Max Soliman - Third Place in Editorial Writing


Joining the winners of BPC and Ad Astra are the following student-journalists: 

Mark Deo Aboboto - First Place in Photojournalism (Divine Word College of Calapan)

Ma. Isabel Azana - Third Place in Photojournalism (University of Nueva Caceres)

Adrian Ray Amon - Second Place in Editorial Writing (IloIlo Science and Technology University)


The College also received the Largest Delegate award with 15 delegates, tying with the Polytechnic University of the Philippines (PUP) with the same number of participants. Meanwhile, Tawi-Tawi Regional Agricultural College was given the Farthest Delegate award


TRAC is a non-profit organization dedicated to holistic development training that fosters transformational and purpose-driven leadership. Each year, TRAC hosts national conventions on campus journalism,  student affairs and development, and student leadership featuring educational institutions across the country.